Just Rubbish!

The one where I turn back and go home

Last night I went for a short run.

All day I had been thinking about it, in my head I planned it.  A quick 30 minute run with the aim of reaching 5k.  But, best laid plans and all that.

I set off OK.  I found a pace I was comfortable with … but then disaster struck near the end of the first mile.  The pain in my thigh and knee became unbearable and I limped home.

image

A measly 1.73 miles.  I didn’t even make it to two.

The pain carried on for most of the night and I had trouble getting to sleep.

So my now regular Tuesday long run turned into nothing.  I could still feel the pain tonight and after a rubbish nights sleep I had no energy.

The only thing that makes me feel a bit better is that the half marathon training plan I downloaded specifies a rest day today.

Tomorrow is another day and I am working in Spain for the next three days so my plan to ‘get back on it’ is to go for a run tomorrow night along the beach.

I have a small suitcase but my trainers are packed and I’m ready to go.  As long as my hair straighteners fit … I don’t need anything else!

Leave a Reply

