Jeffing!

The one where I try something new

So tonight (Monday) I managed to get back out for another run.  Sometimes life is so hectic that I don’t seem to stop until after 8pm, but with the half marathon looming I need to make time for my training.

After finishing work, picking up kidlet number 1 and getting through the door close to 6 I decided not to eat dinner with the family and get my runners on and head out.  I had no set target in mind, I just needed to get out there and start enjoying the training again.

A few months ago I joined a group on Facebook called ‘Run Mummy Run’.  It’s a community of women runners of all ages, shapes, sizes and standards.  It has over 10,000 members and it is generally very encouraging.  Although I am a member of the group, I have yet to post or comment on anything but I do read what others put.

Recently on RMR there have been lots of posts about Jeffing (also known as the Jeff Galloway technique). Jeff is a US Olympian who broke the US 10 mile record in 1973 with an amazing time of 47:49.  The method he advocates is ‘Run Walk Run’.  The idea is that the strategic walk breaks allow runners to control fatigue and eliminate or significantly reduce a number of injuries.

You calculate your magic mile (see www.jeffgalloway.com) and the website gives you your run / walk ratio.  Looking at the website now, I am not sure what time I used as when I set out for my run I had it in my head that I was to run for 4 minutes and walk for 30 seconds.  This is the time for someone that can run an 8 minute mile … I can’t run an 8 minute mile!  I should have been running for 90 seconds and walking for 15.  Oh well, when trying something new I should do my research more carefully!

Anyway, I set my TomTom watch to 4 minute intervals with a 30 second walk and a 1k warm up.

run1

It wasn’t a great run, maybe it was because I was running a ratio that was too fast for me; maybe it was because I hadn’t eaten much all day and probably because my training has been quite poor throughout July.

Perhaps if I use the correct ratio I might see the improvements the website talks about … or maybe I’m not destined to be a quick runner!

Leave a Reply

