This Girl Can (Well I hope she can!)

The one with the motivational poster!

There has been a lot of coverage recently of the This Girl Can campaign.  Developed by Sport England it celebrates women ‘doing their thing no matter how well they do it, how they look or even how red their face gets’.

I really like this campaign, especially as I have two young daughters.  Both of my girls are sporty, even at the ages of 4 and 7.  They swim, do gymnastics and also have trampolining lessons.  It was because ‘they do’ that I decided I needed to too.

The seven-year old has already started to notice that a lot of her girl friends aren’t interested in sport but the boys are.  She is quite competitive and taking part in gym and trampoline competitions has helped her cope with losing a bit more.  She still always wants to win and also knows that she has to train, practice and try her hardest … but she might not always be first – and that’s OK.  She is a great swimmer (gaining her mile badge when she had just turned seven) and runner, and has run a few events with me.

Anyway, looking at the This Girl Can website, you can make your on posters … so I did.

unnamedLet’s just hope that after Sunday’s race I can say #ThisGirlCan!

 

Leave a Reply

