Finally ‘She Cracked It’

The one with another medal

After my post the other week about getting out there … I didn’t.  I don’t know what happened, I just couldn’t be bothered, I was lazy, it was half term and it was dark.

I was going to go out on Friday while the girls were at school but I tidied up instead, then I was going to go on Sunday but went to Ikea and then cooked a Sunday roast.  I planned on going Monday but a day out to the Crocky Trail and tea at a friends put a stop to that.  Tuesday I spent the day at a friends eating cake and drinking tea and Wednesday the in laws came over and I cooked dinner and drank wine!  This carried on all week until Saturday (31/10).

Back in the summer I signed up to the Virtual Runner UK and Run Mummy Run ‘She cracked it’ race.  I had to run 10k sometime in October and submit my time.  Well today was the last day so I had to do it.

But as had happened all month I kept putting it off.  The alarm went off at 7:10 but I gave myself 5 minutes extra, then another 15 minutes, then another 30 … and so it went on until 9:30!

Enough is enough, I dragged myself out of bed, got my runners on and off I went.

It was tough going to begin with.  I certainly noticed that I hadn’t been for a proper run all month.  I started off quite well but soon slowed down, but pushed myself to run the first 5k without stopping.

image

My time for each kilometre got progressively slower until the seventh when I had a sudden rush of energy.  As I was running up a hill a girl on her bike coming down shouted to her friend behind her … ‘Keep to the side, runner’.  And they were on about me! Me, a runner!

It wasn’t a great run but I pushed myself  to finish it.  And I’m now a quarter of the way through my races … 10 down, 30 more to go!!!

Leave a Reply

