Market Drayton 10k 2016

The one with an amazing goody bag!

The Market Drayton 10k is quite an event in the local running calendar.  Places sell out quickly, and fortunately I had booked my place as soon as they went on sale in 2015.

It was a very hot and sunny day, one that was lovely for watching a race … but far to warm to be running!  As has been the case many times before, I never dress quite right for the weather.  This time I had decided to wear my ‘Run Mummy Run’ black spotty compression socks.  It was not the weather to be wearing thick, black compression socks!  My legs felt really hot and uncomfortable, and even though I normally quite like running in them … today I instantly regretted wearing them.  I did however, forgo the long sleeved top and wear a vest and shorts.

After watching the Junior races it was time to line up.  I was feeling quite nervous as there were a lot of people I knew either watching or running, and I really didn’t want to make a numpty of myself!

10k mdOf we went and as always I set off too quick.  It was quite crowded so my plan was to get ahead a little and then settle into a comfortable pace.  This worked for a while but by 5k my calves were too hot and the compression socks were making them itchy, so while trying to run I was attempting to roll them down to make them more comfortable.  At this point I did manage to speed up a bit as the crowds and people lining the route certainly spur you on.

That was until I reached the ‘big’ hill!  It was hot, I was tired after all the running of the last month … so I walked it.  I would like to think I power walked it but I’m not so sure.  10k Splits

At the top of the hill it was the last run round the field and on to the finish.  I thought at this point I had sped up again, but looking at my splits I didn’t as much as I thought!

Worryingly there were a couple of people collapsed at the side of the road, probably due to the heat, but as they were being tended to I carried on.

I made my usual attempt to sprint across the MD10line (although the photo looks like I was making no effort at all compared to those behind me!) and it was over.  At 57:14 it was a few minutes slower than my fastest 10k but in the heat, and with having run two marathons a very tough half and a 5k in the month leading up to it I was pleased with the result.

To top it off at the end you got the biggest goody bag I have ever had at a race … a medal, a funky yellow T shirt, a tray of yoghurts, a pork pie, a yummy ginger bread man and much more!  As soon as the entries opened for 2017, I secured my place (it amazingly sold out in about 20 hours!).  This is one I certainly want to try again … and this time I have entered the kidlets into the fun run.

 

Leave a Reply

